Community on the road


Community is an important thing.  One of the toughest parts of my traveling job is finding people to connect with while I am on the road.  My solution… find a cigar shop where I can sit down and light up a favorite stogie.  There is sure to be fellowship, conversation, and laughs.

La Casa de la Habana– this place was awesome!  With several locations around Detroit I opted for the one furthest from “8 Mile” or anywhere else resembling the place that nurtured the likes of Kid Rock and Marshall Mathers– Plymouth, MI.

Not only did this place have a great humidor (complete with cigars rolled in-house with a house blend of tobacco), but they have a coffee shop ATTACHED to the cigar shop.  I went from buying a Brickhouse cigar in one side of the building, to ordering a mocha in the other (great pairing, by the way).

The conversation was great.  I sat with a former Marine who was 55 and looked 35… cool guy.  There was also a restauranteur who runs a couple of places on the UM campus.  It was an enlightening hour about life growing up in Detroit and the real estate/job market in Michigan.  If you’re ever out that way, I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Classic Cigars– since I have lived less than 90 miles from this place for the past 12 years, I am ashamed to say I found it only a month ago.  I will certainly return.  Like La Casa de la Habana in MI, this place has a smoking room in back complete with a bar.  No need to pay by the drink… they’ll run a tab for you.

I spent an enjoyable couple of hours with a friend over a couple of Guinness and a JFR cigar.  Their humidor is incredibly well-organized… perhaps the best of any I’ve encountered.  The selection was wide and the experience there was friendly.

I realize I only travel a portion of the country, so I ask you… where are your favorite places to find some community while on the road?

This entry was posted in Stogies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

