Best cigars of 2010


With the end of another year come all the lists one could hope for.  Some of the more popular and interesting are People’s sexiest man and Barbara Walters 10 most interesting people.  There are also many lists we could do without (see top 10 Jersey Shore moments and the top 10 housewives from the OC, DC, etc).

As a guy, I love lists.  Love of lists is a trait that connects all guys.  SportsCenter has it’s top 10 plays of the day, week, season, and year.  Regardless of your love or hobby, there is always a list of the best.  Cigars are an incredibly subjective area to rate, which is why there are so many lists.  Following are some examples…

Toasted Foot’s top cigar of 2010

Tom’s Cigars favorite is here

Askmen.com has their list as well

Last year I took a look at some of my more memorable smokes of 2009.  In an effort to expand my stogie-knowledge, I tried not to smoke any of my favorites from last year and expand my palate.  I did quite well, although I did smoke several Rocky Patel’s in 2010… in my defense there’s absolutely no way to go an entire year without a RP.  That’s like going an entire year without having a sandwich.  It’s not good for you and, besides, why would you even want to do that?

Following is my list of smokes worth spending your hard-earned money on from this past year.  If you haven’t tried these, I highly recommend you rush out and try these.

Rocky Patel Connecticut–  Surprisingly, this is my favorite smoke of 2010.  I typically favor fuller, more flavorful cigars, but this RP had an incredible amount of flavor.  I can easily recommend this to a new cigar smoker AND to a grizzled veteran.  Both will enjoy the Connecticut.

Brickhouse–  I smoked several Brickhouse cigars this year and each was just as good as I remembered the previous.  It became a “go-to” smoke for me in 2010.  It’s priced well and is very consistent.  As you walk into a humidor and are overwhelmed by all your options, just look for the Brickhouse.  You’ll be glad you did.

Kristoff-  The Kristoff cigar is tough to find so if you see one, buy three.  Specifically I love the Kristoff’s with the Sumatran wrapper.  The flavor is unreal, very consistent, and smooth.  I shared this cigar with a friend and it instantly became a new favorite of his.  In fact, there are plans to buy another humidor exclusively to house Kristoff.

La Flor Dominicana Double Liguero Chisel– This is another one of my “go-to” cigars.  This is not a cigar to smoke if you’re a new cigar smoker.  This beauty will knock you on your butt!  Like a long kiss from a beautiful woman, this cigar will leave you reeling and light-headed.  If you are a seasoned cigar smoker, this cigar packs tons of flavor.  If you’ve never had one, you really MUST check it out.

Did you have any favorite smokes from 2010?  I’d love to try your favorite.

This entry was posted in Stogies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Best cigars of 2010

  1. Hugo F. Melo says:

    Thanks for sharing the pictures of the Barrister Cigar

Leave a Reply

