What did I just do???


Have you ever done something to yourself and later wondered, “what in the world was I thinking?”  I’m primarily referring to things that we put in our body.

I remember reading about how Drew Carey “rewarded” himself for substantial weight loss with… an entire pizza.  He reflected correctly that it wasn’t really a reward as much as a punch in his own face.

I’m convinced this same principle applies to anyone who eats a McRib.  As you pop in the last sticky bite, one inevitably wonders why they’ve just done this to themselves.  By the way, how is it that the good people at McDonalds can make the most proper of adults look like a 7 year old who just ate a rack of ribs after eating one of those things.  If I wanted to get BBQ sauce all over myself, I’ll get real ribs.  If I want to enjoy a faux-meat, BBQ sandwich I’ll get a McRib.

I’m not sure what I was thinking, but I recently smoked this new cigar from Macanudo.  I know, I know.  I realize what it looks like.  My dad likes to give me a hard time and tell me that I smoke “dog turds.”  Well this little beauty moves his exaggerated mockery straight into the fact column.

This was actually a really nice smoke.  It wasn’t nearly as strong as you would think being as dark as it is.  The initial flavor was really nice and even, chocolate, and as it burned toward the middle, stayed very balanced and enjoyable.

But I could never quite get past what it looked like.  Some would call it rugged, natural, earthy.  Most others would say it could clear out a public swimming pool in less than 10 seconds.

I can’t picture the high-society men at Cigar Aficionado rating this cigar (or even wanting to be seen in public).  I can’t even imagine Zman wanting to grab a handful of these to enjoy at home.  I certainly don’t think the Keepers of the Flame would endorse this cigar.

A good portion of the intrigue and enjoyment of smoking a premium, hand-rolled cigar is enjoying the look of the cigar.  I’m not sure the folks at Macanudo paid much attention to this aspect.  No guy wants to smoke a cigar that is going to draw negative comments and snide remarks from everyone.  Hence, while I enjoyed the Macanudo, it will be my last.  No more dog turds for this guy.

Now… off to get a McRib before they disappear for another three years.

This entry was posted in Stogies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

