Saving up for the 4th


We are officially inside of one month away from celebrating our nation’s birthday.  Most all 4th of July celebrations include eating outdoors– typically something that at one time had a mother.  There are also usually an assortment of various salads– potato, noodle, fruit, etc.,– all having nothing to do with leafy greens.

I am not usually the guy at a BBQ who is passing out the cigars to all who come within shouting distance of my perimeter.  However, I do like to share some of my recent finds from the shelves of my tabaqueria.  This year that list will include:

777– a tasty smoke I have yet to write about but look forward to talking about.  It is in my top 5 list of 2010 and should absolutely be sampled by all.

Kristoff– one of my absolute favorites.  This is a cigar that, if I had the money, I would buy by the box rather than one at a time.  My previous thoughts on the Kristoff are here.

JFR– I found this tasty treat at my favorite cigar haunt in Colorado Springs.  Part of what makes the JFR great is the size of the cigar for the price.  Simple and consistent– a great smoke!

Brickhouse— The Brickhouse was a great find for me this year.  It’s absolutely a pleasure to smoke… not overwhelming and yet so much to it.  You’re doing yourself a disservice by not smoking a Brickhouse this year.

I am also in some of the “leaner” years in terms of disposable income as we are a one-income family, I work for a non-profit, and we have two kids.  I do my best to save up a few dollars and try out cigars that others recommend.

This year I have been saving my pennies so as to buy several of my new favorites and share them with other “lovers of the leaf” at our upcoming July 4th BBQ.  It is fun to be able to share a new find with friends who enjoy a premium, hand-rolled cigar.  And it’s always good when this is reciprocated (hint, hint).

Are you typically alone (and perhaps ostracized) as a cigar smoker at your 4th BBQ?  What are you smoking this year?

This entry was posted in Stogies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

