Humor– life’s bacon


I was recently inspired to ask the question: Do you have people in your life that make you laugh?  I know I do:

Mooney

Delpy

Ward

Humor, or humour, is such a powerful and popular thing, it has two spellings (thank you Canadians).  Not only can humor bring a much needed laugh or smile but it can lighten a heavy burden.  Humor is a tool I have used most of my life.  Humor is a lot like bacon… it makes everything better.

Don’t like broccoli?  Put a little bacon in there.

Lettuce and tomato sandwich– I’ll pass.  Add some bacon– yes please.

Mustard greens or collard greens steamed in a pan (I just threw up a little in my mouth).  Add bacon– sign me up.

Not only does bacon make something nasty a little less nasty, but it enhances great things.  Bacon wrapped shrimp, filet, chicken, etc.

Much like bacon, if you add humor to a situation it makes things a little bit better.  When I am uncomfortable I try to bring some humor to the table.  In my less mature moments in life this has been known to cause some trouble for me, but in general humor is good.

Movies like Grumpy Old Men, Ace Ventura, Caddyshack, and Monty Python’s Search for the Holy Grail did not win awards.  But they are beloved and watched again and again, far more often than Gone With the Wind, Grapes of Wrath, or A Streetcar Named Desire.

Golf is a wonderful game!  And satirical movies like Caddyshack really capture the tension that exists between those who love and enjoy the game and those who take it far too seriously.

It is a game to be enjoyed, not mastered.

Enjoy the fresh air.  Enjoy the time with friends.  Enjoy the occasional good shot.

This intense seriousness on the golf course, even amongst those professionals with an excuse to be serious, turns people off.  This is why Phil Mickelson is loved, while Tiger Woods will only ever be respected.

Mark Twain once said that “humor is mankind’s greatest blessing.”  I whole-heartedly believe this to be true.  Make it a point to laugh at yourself this week, and go ahead and laugh at someone else as well.

“A hippie is someone who looks like Tarzan, walks like Jane, and smells like Cheetah.”   — Ronald Reagan

This entry was posted in Bogeys and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Humor– life’s bacon

  1. Julia says:

    good post brother. but don’t bash street car named desire….it brings such joy to….well….my gay professor in college. 🙂 why do you even know about that movie?

  2. LightBaggage says:

    I enjoyed this post on humor- thanks for sharing!

  3. Joy says:

    Loved this post 🙂 Totally laughed out loud at the bacon section. Completely right on! Love you!

Leave a Reply

