Happy Valentines Day


Today is Valentines Day– a day to celebrate love and all the people in our lives who are special.  My dad is a great man– loyal, honest, full of integrity, and he really loves his family.  However, he did not model “planning ahead” for Valentines Day.  This was a lesson I learned well.

I knew I was in trouble when, Saturday night at 9:30, my wife nervously asked me, “Am I going to get any flowers this year?”   “Of course you are sweety,” was my response.  But inside I was swearing like a character in a Quentin Tarantino movie.

Facebook has its pros and cons.  Say what you want, but facebook may have saved my life.  I read a post from someone that our local florist was open Sunday morning for knuckleheads like me who needed to get flowers.  So I loaded up the boys– potential third-generation, non-romantic, last minute Valentine shoppers– and went down to the florist.  They still had a great selection of flowers, we got what we needed, and my sweet wife was happy.

I am a very loved person, as evidenced by the gifts people give to me.  This year for Valentines Day, my sweet wife bought me a cigar.  Is that not the best gift ever!  I don’t need or want flowers, candy, or a neck tie.  I only need one thing… a stogie.  And I need to give my wife some credit at this point.  She knows the right questions to ask the tabaqueria and she has paid enough attention to know what I like.  God bless that woman!

I am enjoying the Siglo Limited Reserve.  Here’s a review from people who have entirely too much time on their hands.  For those who do not know, a cigar really provides an overall great experience when it draws correctly (not too tight, but not terrible loose), burns evenly, and does not crack or fall apart as it is smoked.  The Siglo was all those things and had nice, even flavor, pretty, white ash, and was accompanied by great conversation.

Happy Valentines Day to you and yours!  What is the best Valentines gift you have ever received?

This entry was posted in Stogies. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Valentines Day

  1. cigarfan says:

    Entirely too much time? I earned that time when I gave away my golf clubs! Now it’s somebody else’s frustration, and I can smoke cigars and blog my brains out. Cheers!

  2. Chris Donato says:

    What is the best Valentines gift you have ever received?

    Not to sound too pious, but it happened this year! (and this most certainly coming from a “third-generation, non-romantic, last minute Valentine shopper”).

Leave a Reply

