Sobering reflection


I’m not sure if this person is entering the tunnel, the darkest parts yet to come; or if they are coming out of it and into the light.  This has been my life since June 2008.

I sold my house without a plan.  I jumped, but the next rock was not there for me to land on.  There were hopes and tentative plans, doubts about how quickly the house would sell.  Consequently, my wife, 2 boys and I have been living in a 500 sq/ft duplex on a college campus for 8 months.  It was a God-send at the time, now it feels like an anchor around my neck.

The other day my wife and I were sitting on the couch in the main room, talking about next steps.  Secretly, in my mind and heart, I was bemoaning our small space.  Think about it… 500 square feet.  Most garages are between 400-500.  At the same time I was proud at how well we had gotten by without most of our things (which are in storage).  It is, at times, both a practical and an emotional struggle.

Suddenly, I pictured the “sample home” on display in the offices of Compassion International and realized that one tiny home that houses most families around the world, would easily fit 4 times into the very room I was sitting in.  My tiny, uncomfortable space– 500 square feet– is 4 times the size of an average home around the world.  Needless to say, my attitude and heart changed.

Now, I am not saying I’m ready to live in 500 square feet forever… but I can certainly do it for a time, and do it with a smile on my face.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sobering reflection

  1. Zona Wilson says:

    Movie quote – Notting Hill. Hugh Grant says to Julia Roberts something like, “Try to have at least some measure of perspective (of your problem). There are people starving in Africa, for God’s sake.” It is all about your perspective, isn’t it, and willingness to be content where God has placed you. Take it from me – I have learned it the hard way.

Leave a Reply

