Striving for “Third Place”


A great “third place” cannot be underestimated.  No, I am not talking about a bronze medal or a purple ribbon.  Actually, if memory serves me correctly from my days as a competitive swimmer, purple ribbons are for 6th place, but I digress.  I am talking about that special place after place #1- home, and place #2- work; where you feel like you fit, like you’re a part of things, like you belong.  A place where they know you, you know them, and it all works… think Norm from Cheers.

Because I get to travel quite a bit for work, I seek to find these places as often as possible and then frequent them– hotels, restaurants, coffee shops, and tabaquarias.  They are places I can relax and feel good in, even while away from the comforts and familiarity of home.  It’s a place you want to spend time in… a place where you feel like an insider even though you may only be there a couple of times per year.  Places like Natalie’s (a restaurant) in Dallas– FANTASTIC lamb, and The Marqueen (a hotel) in Seattle– location is second to none.   That is what I found at the Cigar Vault.

My travels recently took me to Houston where I thought I would try out #16 in Cigar Aficionado’s top 25 cigars, the Alec Bradley Family Blend.  Although I have not worked my way into the top 10 yet, I am surprised this cigar was not rated higher.  It is a GREAT smoke… full of flavor and very even.  The cigar never got harsh, even down at the end, and burned very nicely (an uneven burn can absolutely ruin a cigar for me).  The Alec Bradley Family Blend definitely works its way into my regular rotation.  It’s a nice mid-morning cigar and would go well with a cup of coffee or an espresso.

Do you have a special 3rd place?  Leave a comment and tell me about your home away from home.  Sort of an e-shout out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Striving for “Third Place”

  1. Pingback: Super Bowl Sunday « Stogies and Bogeys

  2. Pingback: Favorite topics of the 1st quarter (a little late) « Stogies and Bogeys

Leave a Reply

