A dreamer dreaming… places to live


Different people have various philosophies on what enriches life… making money, having things, living simply, success in your job, etc. 

For me, I want to experience as many things and as much of the world as I can.  In my opinion, that means travel (both US and abroad), and varied professional experiences. 

I find myself thinking about all the different places around the world I would want to live.  I have had the pleasure of living in the Caribbean for a couple of years after college.  That was a great time and I have found that it connects me in a unique way to groups of people (MK’s, those who grew up/live in the Caribbean, etc) that I otherwise wouldn’t have a connection with. 

I have met people who are dorm parents at MK schools in various parts of the world; those who teach at DOD schools and MK schools; and those who simply travel and find various jobs to keep them busy.  Word on the street is, make sure you have enough money to get yourself back to Amsterdam as it’s easy to get bar jobs and you get paid in cash, under the table.

I met a woman over Christmas who, while only a couple of years older than me, has traveled and lived in, many parts of the world.  Multiple countries in Europe, Africa, New Zealand, Australia, China, South America, Central America– she has seen and experienced many things.  But even more than that, she has connected with many different people around the world and has those rich experiences.

Conventional wisdom says that you should get those experiences out of your system before you get married and have kids, or wait until your kids are grown and gone.  However… I know MANY people who decide they are going to live life and have those experiences with family…

  • My grandfather loaded up his wife and two boys (ages 3 and 1) and moved to the wilds of Alaska… in the winter.  He built their small cabin, lived with the local villagers, and had a ministry to the native people of Alaska for over 50 years.
  • I have friends who left a lucrative law practice in the DC area and went to work in Africa with International Justice Mission.  They have a 6 year old, and recently adopted a small boy and had another baby.
  • I read a blog written by a guy who is traveling the world with his wife and small child.

I think it’s important to go out and live life, do things you love to do, and soak up the experiences that God has created in this great, vast world. 

What sorts of things do you want to do, but sometimes have fears or hesitations that hold you back?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A dreamer dreaming… places to live

  1. Dave says:

    Good encouragement for 2010 James. I have been thinking about going to Korea to teach English but keep finding excuses to put it off.

Leave a Reply

