Really? All day?


I recently read a fascinating article from Inc. Magazine on business owner and entrepreneur Jason Fried.  It was recommended to me by a friend and very entrepreneurial man, Bryson Moore– click here to see some fabulous short videos that Bryson has done for the Soderquist Center for Leadership and Ethics.

Anyway– allow me to quote several excerpts from the article, and we’ll play a little Sesame Street “one of these things is not like the other.”  Again, all of these excerpts are quotes from the same guy in the same article…

ready…   (deep breath, and, exhale)…   here we go…

“I don’t use an alarm clock… I try not to grab my phone and check e-mails first thing. I used to do that, and it’s just not good for you. Instead, I’ll go and brew some tea and try and relax a little bit.”

“Three mornings a week, I go to the gym for an hour. I’ve been going to a trainer for two years. Otherwise, I think I’d blow it off.”

“I usually get to work between 10 a.m. and 11 a.m. … I spend most of my day writing. I write everything on our website. Communicating clearly is my top priority… I spend another good portion of my day thinking about how to make things less complicated.”

“I almost always order in lunch… After lunch, I get a little lazy between 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. I don’t feel that productive, so I’m usually screwing around… I like to read in the middle of the day, to give myself a break… Around 3 p.m., I like to have another cup of tea as a pick-me-up.”

“I usually leave the office around 6 p.m. … I have a garden, and I like to go out back and just look at my plants. I might weed or prune. I like to get my hands a little dirty after being in front of my computer all day.”

ALL DAY???  DID HE SERIOUSLY JUST SAY ALL DAY???

Yea man… like, I had this killer day at work.  I headed in to the office a little after 10:00 am, did some email, wrote a blog, had some lunch, read a book, played some ping-pong, had some tea, wrote another blog and worked on the company website for an hour and a half.  Then I headed home.  Phew… long day.  I’m beat.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  I am a believer in working smart, and certainly buy into the “4-hour work week” concept.  In fact, that’s one of the more impactful books I’ve read in the past year.  But please do not try and pawn your workday off as a “child making Nike’s in Cambodia” sort of experience.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Really? All day?

  1. Julia says:

    ok….reading this a second time was just as amazing as the first! love the comparison to nike kids in cambodia. classic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

