Inspiration


Recently, a few topics that are of interest to me are: personal finance (more specifically passive income), golf, cigars, and raising my boys.  A great many of the blogs I read are personal finance blogs.  There are times when I can blow over a post or two, but for the most part they are good reminders of how we aspire to live our lives and they keep the right ideas and mindset in front of me.

One of the best books I read in 2009 was a book called The 4-Hour Work Week.  I highly recommend it!  Among the many takeaways was this… living the good life is not about uber-wealth or becoming a millionaire; but rather, a life where you can spend your time doing things you are passionate about, the things that really matter to you and are a priority to you.

I was recently inspired by a post from Passive Family Income to actually articulate what those things are.  What are the things I want to spend my time doing, and who are the people I want to spend my time with?  So many times people dream “if only I had a million dollars.”  Have you ever truly stopped to think about what you would really do with your time if you had $1,000,000?  Not so much what you’d buy, but what you would do with your day.  And not just the first day.  Day, after day, after day.  It is quite sobering and was a bit of a wakeup call for me.  So… I thought I would create my own list as to why I would like to create passive income and work toward less reliance on the traditional J-O-B.

  1. Take my kids to school and pick them up.
  2. Have long weekends with wife/kids.
  3. Build/develop relationships with people in my community– more specifically, have time to go to breakfast or lunch with them.
  4. Really put in mental energy, immersing myself into “where my boys are”– how they are struggling, what they are learning and need to be learning (both in school and in life lessons).
  5. Play more golf.
  6. Read.
  7. Work in the yard.
  8. Explore my creativity.

Sure, I can do some of these things now… and probably should be.  But I plan to really give them my full attention as I have more time and less obligation to the 9-5.

What would you do with unspoken for, free days?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

